Online History, Geneology Websites

The Congress includes an upper house the senate who's members are elected for a sic year term, and a lower house called the House of Representatives whose members are elected every two years. The United States has an independent judiciary.

Country name: conventional long form: United States of America conventional short form: United States abbreviation: US or USA. Government type: federal republic; strong democratic tradition. Capital: Washington, DC. Administrative divisions: 50 states and 1 district*; Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia*, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming.

Independence: 4 July 1776 (from England). National holiday: Independence Day, 4 July (1776). Constitution: 17 September 1787, effective 4 March 1789. Legal system: based on English common law; judicial review of legislative acts; accepts compulsory ICJ jurisdiction, with reservations. Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal.


Please visit these additional resources for more information.